My Own Private San Francisco Masked Bandits…defeated.

It was 10 years ago that we landscaped our backyard and transformed it into the beautiful garden that it is now.
2005 house view of backyard
The centerpiece to the garden is the pond, seen here in 2005:
 2005 House pond
For about 8 of those years I have been battling nightly visits from the Bernal Heights dwelling raccoons.
 2390351444_50d1063edf
…and their determination to ruin the pond.  
Build It And They Will Come.
racoons 2
They destroyed two pond liners, at a great expense to me. Then my gardener Remy and I began a several year trial and error, morstly error, scientific project to outsmart them, save the pond and allow me to keep my fantasy going of having a fountain. We eliminated the pond liner and  divided the pond into two sections, made of two sturdy plastic/rubber tubs. We surrounded those tubs with earth, plants and rocks. That stopped them from destroying the actual pond. Then I survived another 5 years of nightly destruction of every fountain I ever had. 
DSCF0581
I cannot tell you how many fountains and pumps we went through. I found them at the bottom of the pond and strewn about the yard with tiny teeth marks on them. By the way, we gave up on fish a long time ago.
2005 Koi pond
These masked bandits use the pond and fountain as their night time waterpark. The drought has not helped either, with so little water around for them to drink or play in…not that I am getting sympathetic here.
I acually gave up on everything a few months ago, and just let the water sit there. But I kept searching for a better idea, another way to still have my fountain. Finally, Remy came up with a great idea: to secure the fountainpiece between large cement blocks inside the pond and to put the old round millstone on top of it, also made of cement, with the fountainhead barely sticking out…so the raccoons could not budge it or knock it down. As of today it has been two weeks of problem- free fountainizing! The timer turns it on around 8 am and off around 6pm. Remy says it’s better than Versailles…he’s French, so he should know.
I’m listening to it right now. Ahh.
IMG_2195
Now you guys will have to find somewhere else to play/torment humans.

raccoons

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marta Wohl
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 23:33:45

    that is persistence!! and very funny (for the reader). enjoy!! m

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  2. Melinda Basker
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 05:50:40

    Congratulations on outsmarting those little devils. Long live Bernal Versailles!

    Reply

  3. Bibi
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 19:20:52

    I used to have raccoons when I lived in Mill Valley. I swear, they took ecstasy and danced on my rooftop all night long.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

