The Kale Margarita, a Ridiculously Healthy Cocktail

When my friend Melinda gave me her Magic Bullet blender, which she was no longer using (it’s complicated), I told her ‘this will help me eat kale’. I just had to have that superfood.  I’m not crazy about cooking it or putting it in a salad, so this small speedy blender for one was a great idea. As soon as I got it I started making  kale smoothies: with yoghurt, blueberries, apples, carrots, cucumbers, pears…lots of combinations. Every day I would report to her on the kale smoothie of the day. Then I added, “Oh, and I made a margarita last night too.” She said, “Just as long as it’s not a kale margarita!” I thought, Why Not? I already consider tequila to be a health food drink (probably not)…adding kale will make it a monster! So I googled kale margarita and decided to try it out.  Here is my favorite recipe:

The Garden Variety Margarita, Saveur Magazine

My version: get a Magic Bullet Blender from Target

Magic-Bullet0

Put all of the following ingredients in it until totally liquified and smooth:

MAKES ONE DRINK

INGREDIENTS

1 teaspoon  crushed ginger
crushed ginger
One handful of  baby kale greens
i_heart_baby_kale__5clam
2 oz. blanco tequila
tequila silver
2-3 oz. lime juice
Limeade
1 teaspoon agave nectar
Agave-Nectar
Ice
Salt, for rimming the glass…Salud!
kale margarita
For non-drinkers, this drink without tequila is still fabulous.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda Basker
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 16:22:03

    You’re such a health nut!

    Reply

  2. sally allen
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 18:30:11

    It looks really pretty! I want one! And I’m impressed that you can buy minced ginger in a jar. Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

