The Divine Miss M

I first heard Bette Midler in 1972 when my gay roommate Ray brought home the new album The Divine Miss M, containing songs she made famous singing at the Continental Baths in NYC, including the great ‘Do You Want To Dance?’, ‘Friends’, Hello In There’, and ‘Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy’.  She said in 1998, “Despite the way things turned out [with the AIDS crisis], I’m still proud of those days. I feel like I was at the forefront of the gay liberation movement, and I hope I did my part to help it move forward. So, I kind of wear the label of ‘Bathhouse Betty’ with pride.” She was and always will be a gay icon. Her new album “It’s The Girls” is a tribute to the girl groups of the 60s…and more. Here she is on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Kimmel:

Here is the trailer from the album:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda Basker
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 06:44:53

    The trailer for the new album didn’t make it into the post or I didn’t see it.

    M

    ________________________________

    Reply

  2. Ricki
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 15:33:13

    This is a great post! Listening to the trailer is like time traveling. You’re on a roll with your postings, keep it going.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

