Charleston killings in AME church…WTF!!!!

I cannot believe this happened…AND this is the 47th time that President Obama has addressed the country about the killings of innocent people, many of them black. Something has to be done about people having guns. Most people I know have been involved in civil rights and human rights struggles for the past 40 years, and this is where we are in 2015? We are going backwards. I am profoundly saddened and outraged that black people are attacked and killed regularly in the country where I live. 2015 has been a shocking year.

I am sharing a short essay written by friend Pauline Vela that she posted on Facebook today:

I listened to President Obama’s remarks about the deadly carnage that happened at Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in South Carolina. What I saw was a visibly shaken up President, profoundly hurt (he and Michelle know a lot of people from this church and knew a few who were killed), a very exhausted President that has clearly reached his tipping point. This is the 47th time that this President had to go in front of the American people and address yet another instance of gun violence. 47 times WTF. Today he asked in so many words….when will the American people realize that we are the only country in the world where events like this routinely happen?

My heart broke as I watched President Obama this morning. My heart has been breaking because it’s not just the gun violence. Ever since this President took office 7 years ago the racism floodgates just blew wide open. We have always known that racism is alive and well in this country but I quite frankly had no idea to what extent, the display of racist venom and hate have been really hard to witness. And as much as I would like to take hope and believe in Michelle’s words spoken during two commencement speeches she recently delivered – that we have made progress – it is fucking hard to wrap my head around this when I keep witnessing events in McKinney, Ferguson, Baltimore, the suicide of Kalief Broward arrested when he was a sophomore in high school ended up at Rikers released three years later but never saw his day in court and was never charged. It is very very hard to see what progress we have made.

And if I hear, read one more time how significant it has been that this country elected it’s first black President as if by doing so we have taken a huge leap in addressing racism, I say we have to think again. If anything, Obama’s presidency has unleashed the very ugly toxic underbelly that this country has always had and maybe this is where we begin? Where is our collective guilt in all of these? Where is the anger? When is enough is enough? Progress really? I need a shovel hell I need a bulldozer to see this but we don’t need one to see the ugly wreckage of racism in this country today.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Penn Garvin
    Jun 18, 2015 @ 21:47:52

    Thanks, Phern! Love, Penn Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2015 21:22:10 +0000 To: penngarvin@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

